Fellows shall be persons who have achieved distinction in the field of Mass Properties Engineering or who have materially contributed to the advancement of the Society.

Honorary Fellow

Honorary Fellows shall be persons who have achieved eminence in Mass Properties Engineering or who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of the Society.

Richard Boynton Lifetime Achievement Award

Richard Boynton, both personally and through his company, Space Electronics, has been a long-time supporter of and contributor to the Society of Allied Weight Engineers.  As a prominent colleague and personal friend of many members, the Society instituted an award in 2010 to honor his contributions and legacy as a member of this organization. This ongoing award will keep Mr. Boynton’s legacy alive as an inspiration for our members long after the ending of his remarkable career.  The Richard Boynton Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to a member of SAWE that has demonstrated extraordinarily strong and sustained support of the SAWE over a significant number of years.

Ed Payne Award

The Ed Payne Award is presented to young engineers, under the age of 35 at time of application, who have made significant contributions to the SAWE or the mass properties engineering profession.

L. R. "Mike" Hackney Award

The L. R. "Mike" Hackney Award is given to the author or authors of the best technical paper presented at the conference. Papers are judged for technical content, originality, usefulness, value, clarity, style, and form. Balloting is by each member of the Technical Committee.

Special Merit Award

Occasionally an award is given due to the significance of an achievement or the exceptional merit of a technical paper.

SAWE Scholarship

The SAWE has also established a scholarship fund for engineering students with the principal growing by donations from individuals, chapters, and corporations as well as by sale of our popular Introduction to Weight Engineering textbook. To date, the Society has established endowments at three universities; each provides $1,000 scholarships annually. The first such scholarship was endowed at the University of Texas at Arlington by the Texas Chapter in 1989. The Society has also endowed permanent annual scholarships at West Virginia University in 1999 and at Wichita State University in 2000. In addition, a scholarship award of $1,000 has been given annually since 1994 to an engineering student interested in mass properties engineering at a university within the geographic area of the annual International Conference. The SAWE chapter that hosts the annual International Conference selects the university receiving this annual scholarship money.

The SAWE introduced a scholarship program in 2002 for children and grandchildren of SAWE members who plan to continue their education in college. This program annually distributes scholarships to children of SAWE members. Scholarships are offered for full-time undergraduate course of study at an accredited four-year college or university in a curriculum of the student’s choice.

Frank Fong Scholarship

The SAWE/Frank Fong Memorial Scholarship was established by SAWE and the family of SAWE past-President Frank Fong in 2005. The requirement are the same as the SAWE Scholarship but is dedicated toward students enrolled in a technical course of study (e.g. engineering, physics, mathematics, computer sciences, etc.).

Scholarship Application Form ] 

Donate to the SAWE Scholarship Fund ]